Code Signing For Revit 2017

In 2017, Autodesk really wants developers to sign their DLLs (http://thebuildingcoder.typepad.com/blog/2016/04/whats-new-in-the-revit-2017-api.html#2.4)

If you don’t, Revit will show this scary dialog on startup

not signed

Dealing with this was a fairly annoying process, so to hopefully make it easier for others, here is what I did.

  1. Bought a 5 year certificate from http://codesigning.ksoftware.net/ for $365
  2. Sent them a bunch of documentation to prove that I am who I say I am (including signing up for a free listing at http://www.yellowpages.com/allston-ma/mip/boost-your-bim-526332700?lid=526332700)
  3. Got my “certificate” and generated a PFX file (if you have questions about this step, post in the comments and I will add more info)
  4. Added this to the Visual Studio post build event
    “C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.0\bin\x64\signtool.exe” sign /f “C:\Users\harry_000\Documents\Boost Your BIM\BoostYourBIM.pfx” /t “http://timestamp.comodoca.com/authenticode&#8221; /p <password> /v $(TargetPath)

The result is that the DLL has a signature as shown below.

properties

 

14 thoughts on “Code Signing For Revit 2017

  1. Hey,
    Can I get a cheap as chips digital signing? $$365 US dollars is a little steep you don’t have to be as tight as a fishes arse to agree with that. I am as angry as a frog in a sock about these anti-geekites. Well thanx for the heads-up harry!

  2. Thanks for the tips Harry I always appreciate them. In Visual Studio I went to > Project > The properties (at the bottom) > Build Events on the left, Post-build event. “C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\bin\x86\signtool.exe” sign /f “C:\pathtomyfile\my.pfx” /t http://timestamp.comodoca.com/authenticode /p “putyourpasswordhereman” “$(TargetDir)$(TargetFileName)”

    Hopefully this will help someone.

  3. “Always” doesn’t ALLWAYS mean Always. If you click [Always Load] today. You will click it again tomorrow…

    • Try starting MS IE before starting Revit.

      We noticed in our firm that some certificates weren’t being added to the trusted store when selecting “always load”.

      Starting MS IE resolved this issue for us, not sure if it’s a bug in Revit or not.

      I hope this helps…

  4. I’m new to Revit API.. I was working with Solidworks API for a long time.. I started out a month ago.. This post gave me a good insight about the new process..
    I din’t have to search for low/cheap code signing certificates.. I guess, the cheapest out there is from ksfotware ( as mentioned in this post).
    I did the same steps as mentioned above..
    Thank you for this post.

Leave a comment