GetCellText – Contents of Schedule Cells in 2014

In 2013 we could read the contents of a schedule through a bit of a workaround – export the schedule to a text file with ViewSchedule.Export and read the file back in with StreamReader.

Now in 2014 we can read the cell values directly with ViewSchedule.GetCellText as shown below with a macro that reads the schedule and shows the data in a TaskDialog.

GetCellText
publicvoid Schedule2014GetCellText()
{
    UIDocument uidoc = this.ActiveUIDocument;
    Document doc = uidoc.Document;
    ViewSchedule viewSchedule = doc.ActiveView as ViewSchedule;
    SectionType sectionType = SectionType.Body;

    string data = "";
    for (int i = 0; i < getRowColumnCount(viewSchedule, sectionType, true); i++)
    {
        for (int j = 0; j <  getRowColumnCount(viewSchedule, sectionType, false); j++)
        {
            data += viewSchedule.GetCellText(sectionType, i, j) + ",";
        }
        // remove the trailing "," after the last cell and add a newline for the end of this row
        data = data.TrimEnd(',') + "\n";
    }
    TaskDialog.Show(viewSchedule.Name, data);
}

private int getRowColumnCount(ViewSchedule view, SectionType sectionType, bool countRows)
{
    int ctr = 1;
    // loop over the columns of the schedule
    while (true)
    {
        try // GetCellText will throw an ArgumentException is the cell does not exist
        {
            if (countRows)
                view.GetCellText(sectionType, ctr, 1);
            else
                view.GetCellText(sectionType, 1, ctr);
            ctr++;
        }
        catch (Autodesk.Revit.Exceptions.ArgumentException)
        {
            return ctr;
        }
    }
}
8 thoughts on “GetCellText – Contents of Schedule Cells in 2014

  1. I’m reeeeeaaally new to all of this, but I’m having a blast. Your Udemy class in great (so far) and I’m learning more everyday. Lessons have a place, but I feel like I learn the most when I wander off the reservation, so to speak.

    I pared down the getCellText to just get a single hard coded cell:
    {
    UIDocument uidoc = this.ActiveUIDocument;
    Document doc = uidoc.Document;
    ViewSchedule viewSchedule = doc.ActiveView as ViewSchedule;
    SectionType sectionType = SectionType.Body;

    string data = “”;
    {
    data += viewSchedule.GetCellText(sectionType, 0, 0);
    }
    TaskDialog.Show(viewSchedule.Name, data);
    }

    That done, I tried to use the above example as a jumping off point to get the setCellText to work. I know it’s wrong, and I think I know why it’s wrong, I just have no idea which direction to go next.
    {
    UIDocument uidoc = this.ActiveUIDocument;
    Document doc = uidoc.Document;
    TableSectionData tsd = new TableSectionData();
    //ViewSchedule viewSchedule = doc.ActiveView as ViewSchedule;
    SectionType sectionType = SectionType.Body;

    //viewSchedule.GetCellText(sectionType, 0, 0);

    tsd.SetCellText(0,0,”HELLO WORLD”);

    }

    The error I get is:
    The type ‘Autodesk.Revit.DB.TableSectionData’ has no constructors defined (CS0143)

    I’m pretty sure this is because the TableSectionData isn’t a “child of” UIDocument. Is that correct?

  2. I see it’s late and I gave the reason I thought TableSectionData tsd = doc.ActiveView as UIDocument)

    In this case I know I don’t have the constructors defined, I just can’t find what they would be. I also know I could be waaaay off base, so I figured I’d ask for some guidance.

    Anyway, night all.

    Thanks again for the creating this site and making all of this so accessible.

Leave a Reply

